The RWE Regulatory Evolution: How to use RWE to augment RCTs and advance the drug development paradigm

FREE WEBINAR | 23rd July, 2019 | 2:30pm London, 3:30pm Paris, 9:30am New York

Real-world evidence (RWE) has had increased impact on the development and commercialization of new treatments. Now, the FDA, prompted by the 21st Century Cures Act, is engaged in a multi-year process to determine exactly how RWE can augment or even substitute randomized clinical trials (RCTs), to get the right treatment to the right patient faster and safely.

As part of this commitment, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School, and Aetion have collaborated to launch RCT DUPLICATE, an FDA-funded demonstration project in which real-world data is used to replicate the findings of 30 completed Phase III and IV randomized control trials, and to predict the results of seven ongoing Phase IV trials. The project aims to identify when, where, and how RWE sourced from healthcare databases can answer key questions in drug development.

In this webinar, we’ll (a) share interim findings and (b) determine how pharma can apply the study’s interim findings to launch a new era in which pharma can have confidence in scientifically valid real-world evidence. Specifically, we’ll learn:

  • Regulatory precedents based on RWE submissions
  • What it takes to create regulatory-grade RWE, from data sourcing to determining validity
  • Use cases for RWE in label expansion and as a synthetic control arm
Panelists include:
Sebastian Schneeweiss

Sebastian Schneeweiss

Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology

Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School

Jeremy Rassen

Jeremy Rassen

Co-Founder, President and Chief Science Officer

Aetion

Stephen Motsko

Stephen Motsko

Senior Director Pharmacoepidemiology

Eli Lilly and Co

Brian Bradbury

Brian Bradbury

Executive Director, Center for Observational Research

Amgen

Paul Simms

Paul Simms

Chairman

eyeforpharma